Nine States Where Residents Will Need a Passport to Fly | Brownell Travel

Nine States Where Residents Will Need a Passport to Fly

Beginning January 22, 2018, residents of nine states will no longer be able to fly with only their driver’s licenses for both domestic and international flights. The nine states where residents will need a passport to fly include:

  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington

The IDs from these states do not meet the minimum security standards for license issuance set by the REAL ID Act of 2005. Residents will need an alternative form of ID to pass through TSA security checkpoints, like a passport, military ID, or permanent resident card.

By 2020, travelers from all states must have identification compliant with the REAL ID Act to go through TSA security checkpoints. Learn more about see if your state is compliant here.

It is also important to note that if you are traveling with a passport, our best practice is to renew it within 6 months of expiration. Many countries require your US passport be valid at least three months after your intended date of departure. Learn more here.

  • Welcome to the Brownell Travel Journal – your source for travel tips, destination inspiration, and much more!